Lesson Learned:

Always check Twitter before bed.

When I woke up Monday morning, I felt like the last person on Earth to find out U.S. Navy SEALS killed Osama bin Laden.  I had a text message from my mother (who, to be fair, is running on Mountain Time) alerting me to the President Obama’s announcement.  In the time it took me to find out, people had already celebrated in the streets of Washington and New York, passed out from elation and/or alcohol, and were having their coffee and aspirin.

Had I checked my Twitter feed prior to going to bed early, I’d have known to stay up and turn on the television.  The next day, I felt like I was in catch-up mode, flicking back and forth from my station to all the major networks as I brushed my teeth and put on some mascara.  Not a great way to start the day when your shift begins at 7 a.m.

I knew better.  Just a few weeks ago, I checked Twitter before letting my head hit the pillow, and saw the initial alerts about the massive earthquake off the coast of Japan.  I turned on the TV just in time to watch the tsunami rush ashore– live.  I’ll never forget watching that unfold at 2 a.m. EST.  Feeling prepared for my next day was worth the short night of sleep.

Leave a Reply

